© 2023 WVIK
Listen at 90.3 FM and 98.3 FM in the Quad Cities, 95.9 FM in Dubuque, or on the WVIK app!
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

John Deere Classic Announces Sponsor Exemptions

John Deere Classic
John Deere Classic
Bryson DeChambeau won in 2017

Some top college golfers from the Midwest have been invited to play in next month's John Deere Classic in the Quad Cities.

Tuesday tournament officials announced their list of sponsor exemptions, including graduates from the University of Illinois, Illinois State, the University of Iowa, and Iowa State.

Tournament Director Clair Peterson says the Classic has a long tradition of giving promising young players a chance to go up against some of the best on the PGA Tour, and give fans a chance to see them early in their careers.

"So we really thought that this year, after a year off, we'd focus on giving spots to guys that we really admire, that have worked really hard, but are going to schools closer to the John Deere Classic, and guys that might not be getting exemptions from other tournaments."

Some past sponsor exemptions include Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Bryson DeChambeau, and Michelle Wie.

"The basic philosophy of a sponsor exemption is somebody who wouldn't be in your field otherwise that's going to bring some degree of interest to tournament week. And that's a broad definition going back to 05-06 - Michelle Wie certainly fit that description and made sense for us."

This year's John Deere Classic is set for July 8-11 at TPC Deere Run in Silvis.

Illinois - Michael Feagles
Ill State - David Perkins (East Peoria)
Iowa - Alex Schaake (Omaha)
Ia State - Tripp Kinney (Waukee)

A native of Detroit, Herb Trix began his radio career as a country-western disc jockey in Roswell, New Mexico (“KRSY, your superkicker in the Pecos Valley”), in 1978. After a stint at an oldies station in Topeka, Kansas (imagine getting paid to play “Louie Louie” and “Great Balls of Fire”), he wormed his way into news, first in Topeka, and then in Freeport Illinois.