© 2023 WVIK
Listen at 90.3 FM and 105.7 FM in the Quad Cities, 95.9 FM in Dubuque, or on the WVIK app!
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Augustana to Honor Six Former Student Athletes

At this weekend's homecoming game, Augustana College will honor former record-breaking student athletes. Saturday, the college will induct six new members into the "Tribe of Vikings Hall of Fame." 

This will be the 21st class to earn a place in the hall of fame. The six athletes excelled in a variety of sports, from the 1980's through the year 2000. 

This year's honorees include three former "Players of the Year" in the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin, four NCAA All-Americans, and multiple school record holders. 

The Augustana "Tribe of Vikings Hall of Fame" induction ceremony will be held Saturday, in the Gerber Center, at 6 pm. The honorees will also be recognized at half-time during the football game between Augustana and Elmhurst. Kick-off is set for 1 pm. 


Dave Lingner graduated in 1981, and was a three-time CCIW champion and national qualifier, an All-American, and one-time school record holder for track and field. 

Joe Wheeler was senior captain of the football team in 1984, and helped Augustana win its fourth straight undefeated regular season and CCIW championship.

Patti Wenig Miller held multiple school records in track and field by the time she graduated in 1991. 

Corey Christenson won four individual College Conference championships in track and field and wrestling, during his time at Augustana in the mid-1990's. 

Tennis player, Sarah Ainsworth, was the first player ever to win three CCIW number one singles championships. She graduated in 1998 as Augustana's all-time leader in both singles and doubles victories. 

Finally, Joe Schmulbach will join his father in the Tribe of Vikings Hall of Fame. He was the starting quarterback for the Vikings and graduated in 2000.