© 2024 WVIK
Listen at 90.3 FM and 98.3 FM in the Quad Cities, 95.9 FM in Dubuque, or on the WVIK app!
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Illinois Supreme Court changes equality committee name and expand its mission

State of Illinois

Chief Justice Mary Jane Theis and the state supreme court are changing the committee name to Supreme Court Committee on Equal Justice.

The committee's new charge is to "strengthen and advance the ideals of fairness, equity, and diversity in the entire Illinois legal system; identify and work to dismantle inequalities, disparities, and biases in the Illinois legal system; foster and develop a high level of public confidence; and extend respect and dignity to all," according to a press release sent to WVIK yesterday.

The committee was formed in 2015 and is chaired by 1st District Appellate Court Justice Michael B. Hyman, with Justice P. Scott Neville Jr. serving as the supreme court liaison to the committee. In 2022, the Committee added six subcommittees to help further promote equality and trust in the court system.

A full list of members on the committee can be found on their website.