© 2022 WVIK
Listen at 90.3 FM and 105.7 FM in the Quad Cities, 95.9 FM in Dubuque, or on the WVIK app!
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

New Transfer Majors Program in Iowa

Eastern Iowa Community Colleges

From now on, it should be easier for students to transfer from community colleges in Iowa, to four year institutions, both public and private. Tuesday officials unveiled the new statewide Transfer Majors program.

Don Doucette (due-SET) Chancellor of the Eastern Iowa Community Colleges (with campuses in the Quad Cities, Muscatine, and Clinton), says until now the two and four-year colleges have worked out bi-lateral agreements for transferring credits. For this, they worked with the Iowa Department of Education to come up with a system that tells students statewide exactly which classes will transfer.

"This better defines what a transfer major should take. If they're going to transfer in history, here are the community college courses they should take, not only in general education but also in history, that then transfer to meet history major requirements at the university."

Participants in the Transfer Majors program include the three state universities in Iowa, plus some private institutions, including Clarke, Iowa Wesleyan, Mt. Mercy, St. Ambrose, University of Dubuque, and Upper Iowa University.