© 2024 WVIK
Listen at 90.3 FM and 98.3 FM in the Quad Cities, 95.9 FM in Dubuque, or on the WVIK app!
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Iowa QC Results

Two democrats and one republican have won election to the Scott County Board. Incumbent democrat Brinson Kinzer was the top vote-getter, followed by fellow democrat and newcomer Ken Croken. And they'll be joined by republican newcomer John Maxwell. 

Democrats have lost a seat in the Iowa Senate. On Tuesday, voters in the 49th District, in Clinton and Scott Counties, elected republican Chris Cournoyer of Leclaire. She defeated democrat Patti Robinson of Clinton, 55 to 45 per cent.

The seat is currently held by democrat Rita Hart, who's giving it up to run for lieutenant governor with Fred Hubbell. 
Incumbents won several contested legislative races in Scott County on Tuesday. 
Republican Roby Smith of Davenport will return to the Iowa Senate from District 47. He defeated democrat Marie Gleason 53 to 47 per cent.
Bettendorf republican Gary Mohr will serve another term in the Iowa House from District 94, after beating democrat Joan Marttila - 55 to 45 per cent. 
Republican Ross Paustian also won re-election to the Iowa House in District 92, beating democrat Jean Simpson 53 to 47 per cent. 

A native of Detroit, Herb Trix began his radio career as a country-western disc jockey in Roswell, New Mexico (“KRSY, your superkicker in the Pecos Valley”), in 1978. After a stint at an oldies station in Topeka, Kansas (imagine getting paid to play “Louie Louie” and “Great Balls of Fire”), he wormed his way into news, first in Topeka, and then in Freeport Illinois.