© 2024 WVIK
Listen at 90.3 FM and 98.3 FM in the Quad Cities, 95.9 FM in Dubuque, or on the WVIK app!
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Rock Island Co. Panel Rules Schultz, Dane Will Be on March Ballot

Michelle O'Neill
Herb Schultz (L) listens as the Rock Island County Electoral Board begins a hearing in the county clerk's office, Rock Island, IL.

At least three democratic candidates' names will be on the ballot for Rock Island County state's attorney.

This afternoon, the electoral board announced its decision to deny the challenges filed against petitions filed by Assistant State's Attorney Calvin Dane and Defense Attorney Herb Schultz. 

County Clerk Karen Kinney is one of three officials on the board. She, the county treasurer and the circuit clerk ruled against objections filed by four people earlier this month, saying the Schultz and Dane "substantially complied" with election code requirements. 

Credit Michelle O'Neill / WVIK News
A group of 8-10 people waited about 25 minutes in a hall near the county clerk's office. The hearing started at 1:57 pm but had been scheduled for 1:30 pm.

The four objectors could appeal the decisions in court. Democratic candidate Ron Stradt's petition was not challenged, and two of the four objectors are related to him. 

They are also challenging the petition of current Rock Island County State's Attorney Dora Villareal, who's also a democrat.

Kinney and County Treasurer Louisa Ewert recused themselves from sitting on the electoral board for Villareal's case because they signed her petition.

The county sheriff and a person appointed by the chief judge will serve on the board instead.

That hearing has been scheduled for the day after Christmas, December 26th, at 1:30 pm. (Edited 12/26/19 2:39 pm: This hearing was actually held at 9:30 am.) 

Officially, Michelle's title for 28 years was WVIK News Editor. She did everything there is to do in the newsroom and whatever was needed around the radio station. She also served as Acting News Director from September 2023 - January 2024.
Related Content