© 2024 WVIK
Listen at 90.3 FM and 98.3 FM in the Quad Cities, 95.9 FM in Dubuque, or on the WVIK app!
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Campaigns & Elections

Rock Island Co. & Northwestern Illinois Voters Choose Many Incumbents

Here are the results of some of the November 8th elections in the Illinois Quad Cities area. (Many candidates were uncontested.) All the results are unofficial.

In the Rock Island County sheriff's race, results show Democratic candidate Darren Hart picked up 54% of the vote, defeating his Republican opponent, Patrick Moody.

For county clerk, 58% of voters chose incumben Democrat Karen Kinney over Republican Marian Stallings-Moore.

In Rock Island County Board races:

  • In District 7, voters selected Democrat Carla Enburg over Republican Sharon Diekman, 57-43%.
  • In District 9, Democrat David Adams picked up the majority of votes with 53% of the vote over 47% for Republican Jaclyn Dooley.
  • In District 16, Republican Rodney Simmer won 56% of the vote against Democratic candidate Michael Luckey.
  • And in District 19, 61% of voters chose Republican J. Robert Westpfahl over Democrat Herb Schultz.

In Hampton, 69% of voters said "Yes" to a $1.2 million bond sale to improve the fire station, buy a new fire engine, and buy other vehicles and equipment.
Voter turnout in Rock Island County was 57%. More than 48,000 registered voters participated of the 84,000 total number of registered voters in the county.

Screenshot of IL State Senate Districts in the northwestern part of the state
Google Maps
Screenshot of IL State Senate Districts in the northwestern part of the state

Illinois State Senators Mike Halpin and Neil Anderson will continue to serve in the legislature. On Tuesday in the 36th Senate District, Halpin, a Democrat, defeated his Republican opponent, Rock Island Mayor Mike Thoms, 56-44%. Anderson ran uncontested in the newly drawn, 47th Senate District.

Republican Representative Dan Swanson of Woodhull also won his race in a the newly drawn 71st District of the Illinois House of Representatives. He defeated his Democratic rival, Christopher Demink.

Democrat Gregg Johnson from Moline will be a newcomer in the Illinois House. He defeated Republican Tom Martens, 60-40% in the election.

A number of uncontested, Republican candidates were also elected to seats in the Illinois House including:

  • Tony McCombie from Savanna
  • Brad Fritts of Dixon
  • Norine Hammond of Macomb
  • and from Peoria -- Ryan Spain, Win Stoller, and Chuck Weaver.
  • State Senator-elect Andrew Chesney, a Republican from Freeport, will leave his seat in the Illinois House and serve in the other chamber.
Campaigns & Elections
Officially, Michelle's title for 28 years was WVIK News Editor. She did everything there is to do in the newsroom and whatever was needed around the radio station. She also served as Acting News Director from September 2023 - January 2024.
Related Content