Smoking In Cars With Kids Is Now Against The Law
It is now Illegal in Illinois to smoke when you have a kid in the car with you. The law passed last year took effect June 1. It outlaws smoking in cars if there is a passenger under the age of 18.
“We see higher rates of asthma flare ups of children who are exposed to secondhand smoke," said Kristina Hamilton of the American Lung Associaton of Illinois.
"And then on top of that, being in a small space like a car is even putting a child at more risk”, Hamilton added, noting that kids exposed to smoke have more ear problems as well.
Smoking in a car with a child is a petty offense, meaning a fine of up to $100 for a first offense and up to $250 for repeat offenses. Police can not stop you solely for that infraction. Vaping in vehicles with minors present is still allowed.
Copyright 2021 NPR Illinois | 91.9 UIS. To see more, visit NPR Illinois | 91.9 UIS.