© 2023 WVIK
Listen at 90.3 FM and 98.3 FM in the Quad Cities, 95.9 FM in Dubuque, or on the WVIK app!
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

2013 Lincoln Laureates

Six people with ties to the Quad Cities will receive the state of Illinois' highest honor. Todayin Rock Island, on the 16th president's birthday, the LIncoln Academy announced this year's recipients of the Order of Lincoln. They include business leaders, a professor, doctor, and environmentalist.

The new laureates will be honored at Augustana College in April. They include retired Deere president and ceo - Bob Lane, Bob Ontiveros - founder of the Group O Companies, Brenda Barnes - former ceo of both Pepsi and Sara Lee, Chad Pregracke - founder of Living Lands and Waters, the former medical editor for ABC News - DoctorTimothy Johnson, and Augustana geology professor - William Hammer.

Since it was established 49 years ago, the Order of LIncoln has been presented to more than 300 people in public service, religion, sports, and the arts. They include Jim Edgar, Walter Payton, Gwendolyn Brooks, and Studs Terkel.

(the new Lincoln Laureates are (l to r top row) Brenda Barnes, William Hammer, Doctor Timothy Johnson,
(bottom l to r) Bob Lane, Bob Ontiveros, Chad Pregracke)