Matson Wins in Davenport

Nov 5, 2019

Davenport mayor-elect, Mike Matson

7th Ward Alderman Mike Matson has won the race for mayor of Davenport. Un-official results from Tuesday’s election show he beat 5th Ward Alderman Rita Rawson 59 to 40 per cent.

He received 7,199 votes and she received 4,871. 

Two incumbent members of the Davenport council easily won re-election on Tuesday, while a third narrowly lost his seat.

In the 3rd Ward, Marion Meginnis easily won another term, beating Phil Armer 71 to 29 per cent.It was almost as easy for Ray Ambrose in the 4th ward, winning another term over Jeffrey Bass 60 to 40 per cent. 

But incumbent Richard Clewell lost his seat in the 6th ward, where challenger Benjamin Jobgen beat him 53 to 47 per cent.

Matthew Dorhmann will replace Rita Rawson in the 5th ward, where he defeated Kristi Miller 53 to 45 per cent.

Matson’s 7th ward seat on the Davenport city council goes to Patrick Peacock who won with 68 per cent of the vote, over Alexandra Dermody who received 32 per cent.

And in the 8th ward, Judith Lee is the winner, 56 to 44 per cent, over Dirk Hillard.