Iowa Primary on Tuesday

Jun 4, 2018

Credit Iowa Secretary of State

Polls will open at 7 am for Tuesday's primary election, and not close until 9 pm, in Scott County and across Iowa. Voters will choose candidates for local and state offices.

Democrats have 5 names on the ballot for governor, with the winner advancing to the November election and a chance to challenge Republican Governor Kim Reynolds. Democrats will also choose their nominee for Secretary of State, and for the 1st Congressional District - the winner will face incumbent Rod Blum in the general election.

Iowa Republicans will choose candidates for Secretary of Agriculture, and a candidate for Congress in the 2nd Congressional District. The winner will face incumbent Dave Loebsack in the fall.

In Scott County, Democrats will choose three, from the four candidates for county board, and a candidate for county treasurer. Republicans will also choose their nominee for treasurer.